Time and Again

My future was once present.
But now,
I no longer know.
It slipped away like a memory
Crumbled like a lie
I tell myself.

Who am I without my future?
What defines you, if not the path you are on?
The person you are,
In part,
Is the person you want to become.

So I lost myself,
Yet again,
To my own reflection.

I took my own definition
And appreciation of myself
And cr-
ush-
ed
it
Softly
Single-handedly
(In an act of honesty,
I thought).

So I am empty,
Yet again.

So I start over,
Yet again.

I have to heal the cracks
To be able to fill without leaking
And mold into my own shape,
Yet again,
Yet anew.

 

/michal

Leave a Reply

